Politics, Shmolitics

I’ve participated in innumerable discussions about politics. And when I say “about politics”, I mean about government, law, policies, political candidates, people who hold public office – just about any topic that could possibly come up in regards to politics. And today, I just have to say that I hate politics. I haven’t always hated it. In fact, I would say that I used to be addicted to it. I was raised to be a conservative, Rush Limbaugh-loving, never-recycle Republican, and that’s exactly what I would’ve held to – until about 4 or 5 years ago. I couldn’t pinpoint when or what happened to cause it, but regardless, it happened. I used to watch all the right news shows and discuss why so-and-so (with the (R) next to his name) is good and the other guy (with the (D) next to his name) is bad. But I really, really hate that scene now. And I’ve never actually put my hatred in writing or tried to coherently explain why I abhor it now. So (possibly in a “get it off my chest” kind of way) here are my (hopefully clear and somewhat logical) thoughts on the topic. Before I start – just to be clear – this isn’t a “party” thing. It’s a “politics-in-general” thing. And just as a warning, I may have to quote a Derek Webb song. But we’ll see.

The first thing that bugs me is the lack of choices in parties (specifically in the presidential elections). I want more choices when I vote. Two parties are not enough. I know it’s been said before, but I hate feeling like I have to choose between the lesser of 2 evils. There isn’t anyone, no matter what party line they ride, that I could support wholeheartedly (which we’ll get to later), but I want more choices so I could possibly make a decision I feel good about. I don’t see this being remedied in my lifetime, but I can always hope. Of course, you’d still have to rely on the potential politician being honest before getting elected, but, like I said, I can always hope.

The next problem I have is all the rhetoric and “fakeness”. With most politicians my crapometer rises above the acceptable level. I smell the phoniness – in action and in word. Gotta get your picture taken with this person at a specific venue. Gotta talk about this topic when talking to this group. Gotta kiss up to the religious people. Gotta kiss up to the African-American, Hispanic, etc. population. Gotta spin your past mistakes to sound like this or that. Gotta defend every single decision you’ve ever made. Gotta show up to vote for this bill (but that other one doesn’t really matter). Blech. All I ask is that you show me that you’re a real person with real passion that can be honest. Also something that I don’t see changing. Comes with the territory I guess. Sad. Anyone that desires to be elected should be required to watch “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington” and be tested on it.

The last thing that really gets under my skin is the loyalists, pundits, publicists, etc. I’m mainly talking about those people that truly believe that their party and its leaders can do (and have done) no wrong. They act like they would defend their party or candidate to the death. When the topic of candidates comes up, I always tell people that there is no man on this earth that I could back 100% in any election which in turn makes it a tough decision. But there is one Man I can willingly give my full support to without hesitation. Most of you know what’s coming. Jesus. I can (and by His grace would) defend Him to the death. He’s never made a mistake in the past or present, and I can know He’ll always do the right thing in the future. To sum up: I have a much greater allegiance for Jesus than my allegiance to this country (or any man), but I’ll leave that topic to Derek Webb.

I definitely could lengthen this list without any effort, but I’ll stop here. I know I’m not offering any kind of solution. I’m really not that smart. But I sure do feel better. And if you’re wondering what party I belong to today, your guess is as good as mine. I just want to stand up for what is good and just and abhor what is evil.

Disclaimer: I am in no way bashing America. I love this country. I love my freedom. I think our system of government is about as good as it’s going to get in this corrupt, fallen world. It is only by God’s grace that I was born here, and I thank Him for providentially placing me in this country at this time in history. I just hate to see man continually corrupt something that has some good in its roots. But that’s what man does best, and it’s just the world we live in.

Leave a Reply

