Watching them sleep

Before I was a parent, if you told me that you watched your kids while they were sleeping, I probably would have called you a moron (or at least thought it). Who wants to watch another person sleep? But tonight, as I sneak into each of my kid’s rooms and pray over them, I feel the profound bond between my heart and theirs. It’s like your insides just want to explode with joy and love. I don’t really understand why, but your own kids are so amazing when they’re sleeping. Maybe it’s the peace after the storm (or hyper-activity). Maybe it’s the rhythm of their breathing. I don’t know, but I can’t help but wonder if God does the same thing while we sleep. Does He look at each of us in our slumber and get filled with joy because of the pent up potential He sees in the coming day, week, month, or year? Does His heart of love feel like bursting at the sight of His children in a state of peace? I do like to think that it does. What an amazing God that puts these feelings and emotions inside of us so we can get a glimpse of how He feels and sympathizes with us.

Thank you, Lord, for my 2 boys. They are so special to me. I pray that the potential You’ve placed in each of them would one day blossom into a passionate love for Jesus. I ask for Your wisdom as Mandy and I guide them into life. I ask that you would be a fixture in their journeys. I pray that You would use them to advance Your kingdom on this earth. I pray this blessing over them:

“The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.”
Numbers 6:24-26 (ESV)

Thank you for the beauty of the parent/child relationship. Thank you for the picture that it develops for us. Thank you for being a perfect Father. I love you, Lord.

Leave a Reply

